(Self) Motivation

Posted: November 10, 2013 in fitness, motivation
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

As with most things I write about, it’s a fickle beast.  One day you’re on top of the world; the next, you’re not leaving bed because… well, this:

1375867_10151792814946840_898248108_n

We’ve all been there.

I think it’s pretty easy and common for people to get to a point where they feel like they’re stagnating.  Sometimes one rough day turns into two, then three, and next thing you know it you’ve spent a whole week just not meeting the mark.  The trouble starts not when you have an off day, that happens to everyone; it starts when you begin to question why you’re even bothering.

It would be easy to stop, wouldn’t it?  It would be better to not have to think about what type and how much food you’re eating.  It would be easier to just eat whatever your friends are having instead of going your own way.  It would be nice to not take time out of your already busy day to workout.  Right?

Wrong.

Taking a break from any of these things isn’t the issue.  I’ve written about doing just that, so we know that there are plenty of ways to recharge the batteries.  The issue here is when you’ve done those things, you’ve taken the breaks, you’ve changed things up, and now you’re starting to think it’s not worth the effort.

To be honest, I’m lucky that I haven’t gotten to that point or even approached it with my fitness goals.  I’ve seen people who have though; I’m sure everyone has.   I’ve certainly gotten to that point with other parts of my life in the past.

As per my normal behavior, I’m gonna be a little blunt.

Don’t do that shit.

Don’t.

Do not sit there and tell yourself you’re ready to quit.  You just think you want to quit, but you haven’t really thought it through.  Have you actually done everything you can to succeed at your goal?  Honestly, have you tried everything?  You think long enough and I’m pretty sure you’ll find another way.

I figured out during a conversation the other night that the reason I’ve succeeded at the things I have, and failed utterly at others, all comes down to whether or not I was willing to accept any other outcome.  It comes back to a few words I’ve already written about, Intensity and Focus.

Not to go full hippy on here, but a little self visualization can go a long way.  If you can see yourself at the finish line before you even get started you can’t lose.  It used to go against my very nature to jump in with both feet, but then I did it and it worked.

As for this fitness goal of mine, somebody once called what I’m doing a “fitness kick”.  I don’t really know for sure, but that sounds an awful lot like something that doesn’t last; I’ve kind of gotten over that stage of my life at this point.  What I do know, is that even if I wanted to quit, I couldn’t do it.  I’ve come too far to quit.  I’ve invested too much of myself in this to just give it up.

So, to paraphrase what turned into a rant (sorry, except not really); when you’re ready to quit, think about how far you’ve already come.  Do you really want to give all of that up?

-Moody

Leave a Reply

