In the interest of full disclosure; I’ve been desperately searching for something to write about, and this post has proven to be a most elusive beast.  I think, though, that it’s a nice change of pace.

First of all, I have nothing I am currently struggling with in my quest to be fit and healthy.  I’m not dealing with people who are being kind of douchey about me being healthy.   I’m not even dealing with some existential issue that defies all logic (like some people still think that Han didn’t shoot first).

imgres

I came to a pretty awesome conclusion, though; that’s okay.

Not every day has to be a struggle.  We don’t have to be working through some minor crisis on the way to our goals every step of the way.  So this first little blurb is all about taking the good days with the bad.

If you had a kickass day at the gym, hold your head high and be proud of it.  If you ate all of the healthy stuff you needed to eat, be happy about it.  If you managed to say, “NO” to your boss’ wife’s delicious double chocolate brownies with nuts in them and those little cream cheese swirls; go ahead and cry a little bit, but do it with a smile.

Carry that confidence into the rest of your day.  Yes, this was my gratuitous segue into a post about confidence.

I didn’t used to be confident.  Hell, sometimes I’m the exact opposite.

“Heyyy hot girl with hot friends, wanna see my sweet room at my parents house?  Do you like Xbox?”

See? It comes naturally.

What I started doing, though without realizing it, was faking it until I made it.  There’s a sweet TED Talk I’ve posted below about this; so if you want to avoid my mindless rants then, please, skip ahead.

If you’re still here, however, I’ll attempt to boil down my main takeaway.

I had not seen this TED Talk until very recently and it made me realize what I had done to build my confidence.  No, I didn’t take 2 minutes a day to pose in some power stance (I’m totally not attempting to type this in a power stance at this very moment.)

Seriously, I’m not.

Mostly.

What I did was start acting like I belonged wherever I was.  It could’ve been school, work, the bar, the gym, the sidewalk, etc.  Regardless, wherever I was at I made an effort to simply belong there.  So I walked confidently, made eye contact, greeted people, and kept on moving.

Eventually I not only made it, but as Amy Cuddy mentions in the video, I became it.  That confidence somehow became a part of who I am.  Now, again, that is not to say that I’m a cocky bastard.  We all know there is a fine line between confidence and cocky, don’t mess with that line.  There are certainly days and situations where I’ve got to put back on the “fake it” mentality and hope for the best.

Ladies, I’m looking at you.

I am saying, though, that it doesn’t matter where you are in life or maybe even your fitness journey; confidence is half the battle.  Own wherever you are and whatever you’re doing; the results will follow.

Be sure to check out the video, it’s worth it.

-Moody

Comments
  1. MARINA says:

    Urgh… that one got me in the therapy bone… Also saw that TED. Kind of ashamed to admit it almost made me cry. (OK it did make me cry)

Leave a Reply

