Your Goal, Your Rules.

Posted: September 23, 2013 in diet, fitness, health
Tags: , , , , ,

Over the last few days I’ve had some interesting run-ins with various articles and, in most hypocritical fashion, I think they’re full of it.

I’m only mentioning this because there’s a chance that if you read my blog you also read other fitness related things on the interwebz and if you read what I did, well, things got uncomfortable.

These particular sources of frustration pointed at two of the most glaring problems that people attempting to be healthy run into, at least in my eyes.  The worst part is that, once again, they come from the fitness community itself.

1) Telling you that your way, in regards to how you eat, is wrong because they feel their way is better.

2) You’re goals are unrealistic (because I can’t reach them so you shouldn’t either.)

The first is the easiest to address seeing as I’ve already touched on it in an earlier post.  Moral of the story: just make good choices.  There’s plenty of information out there on how to eat healthy. If you feel good about how you’re eating don’t let someone else knock you down because they do it differently.

The second point, however, is where the real source of my frustration lies.

Your goals are your goals.  If your goal is to be absolutely shredded, jacked, and have a six-pack then DO IT.  If your goal is to drop a few pounds and just be a little healthier then DO IT.  If your goal is to run a marathon then DO IT.  If your goal is to eat a box of Krispy Kreme’s then DO IT… but maybe only once.

eatallthe

There’s a pattern here.

Whatever your goal is, you need to figure out how to reach it.  For the person (aka me) who wants the first goal I listed up there, they are going to have to make much different choices than the person who wants to drop a couple of pounds and keep it off.  The same goes for the person with the goal of running a marathon.  When you set an actual goal, not just a theoretical “wouldn’t it be cool if” thing, but a real life “I’m gonna do this” thing; when you do that, you have already started the process of figuring out what you need to do to get there.

Generally, what “you need to do” involves making a whole bunch of smaller goals that work toward your overarching goal.  Take me for instance; yep, I sure do want a six-pack.  However, I am realistic enough to know that I’m not going to get it overnight or even in the immediate future.  What I do know, though, is that to get there from here I need to work my ass off and eat right.  So I AM.  I make lifestyle choices that get me closer to my goal every day.  I have milestones that let me know that I am, in fact, making progress toward my bigger goal.

Besides, I’m lazy at heart and since this goal is fairly long-term I won’t have to come up with a new one anytime soon.

The problem is when someone questions your goal.

“Is that realistic?  Like, do you actually think you can do it?”

The next time I hear that, somebody is getting judo chopped and I don’t even know what that actually is.

images

 Really, though.  I will.

There is a more civilized answer, though, and it is a resounding, “YES”.  So: set your goal. achieve your goal, tell everyone else to screw off.

Moody

Leave a Reply

