Relentless

Posted: July 9, 2013 in fitness, motivation
Tags: , , ,

Relentless.

When I look up the definition of that word it sounds harsh, even aggressive. The definition, according to Merriam-Webster, reads, “showing or promising no abatement of severity, intensity, strength, or pace.” Comparing that to the direction my life has taken, I don’t feel a need to edit that definition to suit my needs.

My whole life growing up I was the fat kid. Certainly, I didn’t have it as bad as some due to my personality. I’m generally considered funny, outgoing, and occasionally obnoxious; which allowed me to fit in with all of the other boys my age. I played soccer, ran around outside with friends, rode my bike to get places just like everyone else. But I was always the fat kid.

Despite that, I never let it hold me back mentally. Putting up with the jokes and insults helped me develop a tough skin, a thick skin. It also taught me what it’s like to be bullied and, when I grew taller than my peers, I didn’t stand for the bullying of those around me.

I was always fairly popular, everyone knew me by my last name, Moody. Even in my sprawling suburb of D.C. it was hard not to at least be recognized with that name and my 6’2 frame. Again, my personality helped me here. I grew up, went to college, hated it for a year, came home, and moved into a volunteer firehouse. Where my parents gave me my values and the ability to ask questions; the firehouse, and the people in it, gave me the skills to be a leader. Those positives aside, I always failed at one thing: my health.

My weight and fitness level were something I truly should have cared about much earlier in my life. To an extent, I always knew I needed to change. Knowledge, however, is nothing without action. My friends in the firehouse told me I would stop breathing in my sleep, a clear sign of Sleep Apnea. I ignored them. It became part of who I was. “Don’t sleep in a cube with Moody. He snores like a freight train and then stops breathing for a minute.” Later, after growing weary of always being tired, I researched it and found out how serious it was. It could kill me. My weight was killing me. That was my wake-up call. My dreams of being a career fireman would never come true if I wasn’t healthy enough to do the job.

I was the fat kid.

Luckily, a career firefighter at my station that I had become good friends with had just changed his life. He had dropped weight, put on muscle, and become a fitness machine. I wanted to be that machine. I needed to be that machine. He told me exactly what plan he followed and gave me all of the knowledge I needed to become who I had always wanted to be. My life hasn’t been the same since.

—–

That was a year ago. Since then I’ve lost 100lbs of fat, packed on lean muscle, and increased my level of cardio. No fancy tricks. No secret “silver bullet” pills. No “12 Minute Abs” DVD’s. Hard work in the gym and discipline in the kitchen. That is where my results have come from.

This site is where I’ll document my growth, share my struggles, and hopefully motivate others to be Relentless.

Moody

Comments
  1. laurieva58 says:

    Integrity and faithfulness to yourself, priceless.

Leave a Reply

